Learning Our Lessons

Posted: October 9, 2010 in English Version

Learning Our Lessons
Bruce Emond, WEEKENDER | Mon, 09/27/2010 12:16 PM |
| A | A | A |

I love facts but not figures. I have spent a lot of my life imbibing mostly useless information on people and popular culture, reading through biographies and autobiographies, and rifling through reference books. But I am a dud when it comes to math or science – for all practical purposes, anything practical.

For me, it took high school English and journalism teachers to show me the way with my writing, giving me a nudge in the right direction. Many years later, I realize that the importance of formal schooling is that is enables us to find ourselves through our studies, and from that determine our field of interest. That desire to learn should last throughout our lives, which is the gist of the cover story this month.

Yet a cachet of degrees is no guarantee of intellectual dexterity, just as a lack of a fancy alma mater is not proof of arrested intellectual development. I have met many people during my travels who, while not blessed with my educational opportunities, showed an admirable yearning to know more about the world. They taught me some lessons through their example, especially about always being open to opportunities to learn. For if we do, we really can learn something new every day.

Leave a Reply

